Hiring & Managing Staff: Lesson 7
Dan Gilmore, Founder and Attorney at Law at Squires Strategies also an Employment Lawyer and Consultant, will be covering the obligations that employers in Tennessee do and don’t have.
Test Your Knowledge
To receive credit for taking this course through TSBDC, watch the video and take the quiz that will appear below to demonstrate your knowledge.
0 of 3 Questions completed
You have already completed the quiz before. Hence you can not start it again.
Quiz is loading...
You must sign in or sign up to start the quiz.
You must first complete the following:
0 of 3 Questions answered correctly
Time has elapsed
You have reached 0 of 0 point(s), (0)
Earned Point(s): 0 of 0, (0)
0 Essay(s) Pending (Possible Point(s): 0)
In Tennessee, what are some benefits that small employers are not required to provide?CorrectIncorrect
In Tennessee, what is the employee headcount threshold for small businesses to be required to provide health care coverage under the ACA?CorrectIncorrect
In Tennessee, what is the minimum amount of time that employees who work at least 6 hours must be provided for a meal period?CorrectIncorrect
Video Lesson Topics
With the exception of social security, unemployment, and worker’s comp (5 or more employees), small business employers in Tennessee are not generally required to offer benefits.
The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, also known as Obama Care, requires small businesses with 50 or more full-time employees to provide a certain amount of health coverage.
Benefits provided by Tennessee employers is more about what can you provide, what can you afford to provide, and what incentives can you provide to attract and retain the employees you want.
- Meal and Rest Periods
Federal Law does not require providing a meal or rest period to employees. A meal period is usually 30 minutes of unpaid time where a break is taken to eat a meal. A rest period is typically less than 20 minute break but under Federal Law is compensated.
If you choose to provide unpaid meal times as an employer, your employees can not work during that period and are free of any work duties. In Tennessee if you have 5 or more employees, employees that are scheduled a 6 hour shift must have at least a 30 minute meal period break. Some exceptions do apply to the unpaid meal period such as security officers that can not leave posts and servers who wish to waive their right to a break in writing.
- Obligations and Lack of Obligations
Employment Applications in Tennessee are not required by state or federal law. Applications are encouraged along with managing them properly and keeping record of them.
Performance Reviews are not required by federal or state law on any type of regular bases. Performance reviews are effective tools and if used should be a manageable one that is effective, realistic, and provides both positive and constructive feedback for employees.
Topics & Lessons
Each Below Topic Contains a Video Lesson and Helpful Downloadable Information
Employees or Contractors?
Hiring & Onboarding
Diversity & Inclusion
Employee Retention Strategies
Building and Training the Right Team
When the Employment Relationship Ends
Want to learn more about how this topic relates to your business?
Schedule a meeting with one of our consultants! All counseling sessions offered by the TSBDC are no-cost and provided by our staff of professional business consultants.